Hemarina

A human, scientific, and entrepreneurial adventure

Our history

Hemarina is a biopharmaceutical companyspecialized in the development of health products via its proprietary technology platform (M101) based on the properties of Lugworm (Arenicola marina) hemoglobin. A spin-off of the CNRS and Sorbonne University (Paris VI), Hemarina was created in 2007 in Northern Finistère.
Convinced that this natural biopolymer had potential as an innovative therapeutic option to address diseases for which there are significant unmet medical needs, Franck Zal created his company based on fifteen years of fundamental research.

A major innovation compared to all the other current Hemoglobin-Based Oxygen Carriers (HBOCs) Hemarina’s unique technology in the world is based on a naturally occurring extracellular hemoglobin of high molecular weight, that is functional over a wide temperature range (from 4°C to 37°C) and does not require any cofactor to release oxygen. To date, this is the only known hemoglobin with these properties.
One of the essential advantages of this technology is the absence of vasoconstrictor and hypertensive effects as observed with first and second generation HBOCs manufactured from animal (bovine or porcine) or human hemoglobin.

laboratoire CQ HEMARINA

PROMISING APPLICATIONS

The prospects for therapeutic applications are therefore immense. Why? Quite simply because this molecule is a technological platform; it can be used wherever oxygen is involved and potentially at all levels of the living organism (cell, tissue, organ and organism). As a result, all ischemic diseases (resulting from low blood flow and oxygen deficiency) are potential pathways for development.

The heart, kidney and brain are the most sensitive organs to oxygen deficiency. Therefore, these organs are the targets of technology development at Hemarina. Ischemia can result in heart failure, myocardial infarction, and stroke.

Another objective of Hemarina’s technology is to help blood banks meet the growing need for red blood cells. Currently, legal requirements state that human blood cells can be stored for a maximum of 42 days between +2° and +6°C. We are developing a freeze-drying system that will extend the storage life of our red blood cell-equivalent product for 5 years at room temperature.
This freeze-dried therapeutic oxygen carrier will be the first of its kind, and of major importance in the health sector. It will allow rapid use without a regulated storage chamber (equipment for SAMU vehicles, for first aid care) and no thawing constraints, thus providing an optimal solution for the treatment of crises.

Our current efforts focus on the development of the following health products:

  • HEMO2life®: this medical device is an additive to graft preservation solutions. Awaiting a “CE” marking allowing its commercialization, this innovation has already earned the support of the scientific and medical community.
  • HEMHealing®: an oxygenating dressing
  • HEMOXYCarrier®: a universal therapeutic oxygen carrier (similar to red blood cells).
  • HEMDental-Care®: a treatment for periodontal diseases.
  • HEMOXCell®: a cell growth activator

The novelty and potential of these solutions have been recognized through numerous international collaborations with academic, clinical and pharmaceutical partners in Europe and the United States.
The results of this research have been published in numerous peer-reviewed scientific journals and protected by patents, thus forming the foundations of Hemarina’s technology.

OUR VALUES

Patientsare at the heart of all our actions. Our ultimate objective is to provide solutions that contribute to improving the quality of life of patients and their families.

Continuous innovation for diseases with unmet medical needsis a priority.The objective is to provide maximum benefit with minimal changes in medical practices, thereby limiting the cost to the health system.

Main prizes and awards

2019​

2018

2017

2016

2015

2013

2012

2011

2007

Organisation

The Steering Committee

{{ group }}

{{ object.name }}
{{ object.name }} {{ object.subheader }} {{ icon.replace(/^icon_/, '') }}

The Board of Directors

{{ group }}

{{ object.name }}
{{ object.name }} {{ object.subheader }} {{ icon.replace(/^icon_/, '') }}

hemarina

Une aventure humaine, scientifique et entrepreneuriale

Notre histoire

Hemarina est un laboratoire biopharmaceutique spécialisé dans le développement de produits de santé issus de sa plateforme technologique propriétaire (M101) qui repose sur les propriétés de l’hémoglobine du ver marin arénicole. Spin-off du CNRS et de Sorbonne Université (Paris VI), Hemarina voit le jour en 2007 dans le Finistère Nord. 
Convaincu du potentiel du biopolymère naturel issu de 450 millions d’années d’évolution comme option thérapeutique innovante permettant d’adresser des pathologies pour lesquelles il existe des besoins médicaux significatifs aujourd’hui encore non satisfaits, Franck Zal décide de créer sa société qui repose sur une quinzaine d’années de recherche fondamentale.

Innovation majeure par rapport à tous les autres HBOC (Hemoglobin-Based Oxygen Carrier) qui ont été développés jusqu’à aujourd’hui, la technologie Hemarina, unique au monde, repose sur la seule hémoglobine naturellement extracellulaire de haut poids moléculaire, fonctionnant sur une large plage de température (de 4°C à 37°C) et ne nécessitant aucun cofacteur pour libérer l’oxygène. 
De plus, un des atouts essentiels de cette technologie est l’absence d’effet vasoconstricteur et hypertenseur tel qu’on peut l’observer avec les HBOC de première et seconde générations manufacturés à partir d’hémoglobine animale (bovine ou porcine) ou humaine.

laboratoire CQ HEMARINA

DES APPLICATIONS PROMETTEUSES

Les perspectives d’applications thérapeutiques sont alors immenses. Pourquoi ? Tout simplement car cette molécule est une plateforme technologique. En effet, elle peut être utilsiée partout où l’oxygène intervient et potentiellement à tous les niveaux du vivant (cellule, tissus, organe et organisme). De ce fait, toutes les pathologies ischémiques (présentant un déficit en oxygène) sont des voies de développement potentielles.

Le cœur, le rein et le cerveau sont les organes les plus sensibles à un manque d’oxygène, et sont, de ce fait, les organes cibles de la technologie Hemarina. L’ischémie est en effet une caractéristique, notamment de l’insuffisance cardiaque, de l’infarctus du myocarde et des accidents vasculaires cérébraux.

Un autre objectif de la technologie Hemarina serait de répondre aux besoins en culots globulaires grandissants qui ne sont plus couverts par les banques de sang, en permettant notamment, grâce à la lyophilisation, de prolonger la conservation de notre produit équivalent aux globules rouges pendant 5 ans à température ambiante, contrairement à 42 jours à une température fixée légalement entre +2° et +6°C pour les culots globulaires. 
Développer le premier transporteur d’oxygène thérapeutique lyophilisé aura une importance majeure dans le domaine de la santé : utilisation rapide sans enceinte régulée pour la conservation (équipement des véhicules du SAMU, pour les soins de premiers secours) et absence de contraintes de décongélation, donc une solution optimale pour le traitement des crises aigües. 

A ce jour, nos efforts se concentrent principalement sur le développement des produits de santé suivants :

  • HEMO2life® : ce dispositif médical est un additif aux solutions de préservation de greffons. En attente d’un marquage « CE » permettant sa commercialisation, cette innovation bénéficie déjà du soutien de la communauté scientifique et médicale.
  • HEMHealing® : un pansement oxygénant
  • HEMOXYCarrier® : un transporteur d’oxygène thérapeutique universel (analogue aux globules rouges).
  • HEMDental-Care® :  un traitement pour les maladies parodontales.
  • HEMOXCell® : un activateur de croissance cellulaire

L’originalité et le potentiel de ces solutions ont été reconnus à travers de nombreuses collaborations internationales avec des partenaires académiques, cliniques et pharmaceutiques, notamment en Europe et aux Etats-Unis. 
Les résultats de ces recherches ont été publiés dans de nombreux journaux scientifiques à comité de lecture et protégés par des brevets, formant ainsi la base de la technologie d’Hemarina.

NOS VALEURS

Les patients sont au cœur de toutes nos actions. Notre objectif ultime est d’apporter des solutions qui contribuent à l’amélioration de la qualité de vie des patients et de leur entourage. 

L’innovation continue au profit des pathologies aux besoins médicaux non satisfaits est une prioritéL’objectif est d’apporter un maximum de bénéfice impliquant un minimum de modifications des pratiques médicales, limitant ainsi le coût pour le système de santé. 

Principaux prix et récompenses

2019​

2018

2017

2016

2015

2013

2012

2011

2007

Organisation

Le comité de pilotage

{{ group }}

{{ object.name }}
{{ object.name }} {{ object.subheader }} {{ icon.replace(/^icon_/, '') }}

Le conseil d'administration

{{ group }}

{{ object.name }}
{{ object.name }} {{ object.subheader }} {{ icon.replace(/^icon_/, '') }}

La lettre de CM-CIC Investissement N° 28 – Avril 2019